Training

If you want to learn to dive, extend your experience or even become an instructor we can help. The club has a number of qualified instructors who can provide training. Our training is club based – we are only able to train club members and our instructors teach on a voluntary basis and are not paid. If you want to dive with us, we’re happy to help, if you want to learn for your next tropical holiday, it’s probably better for you to learn there (or find a commercial school here – we can advise you about this if you want).

This year our Ocean Diver course costs £200 and our Sports Diver course costs £90. This covers course materials, pool sessions (if relevant) and annual kit hire. You will still need a mask (goggles), hood, gloves and a drysuit, and will need to pay for entry to training sites.

Of course if you learn to dive on holiday and decide you want to try UK diving come and see us!

This Year’s Training Program

Date Class Time Location
Thu 25 Oct Sign up for Training Courses 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 29 Oct Pool 1 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Mon 5 Nov Pool 1 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 8 Nov OD Theory 1

SD Theory 1

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 12 Nov Pool Competition 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 15 Nov OD Theory 2

SD Theory 2

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 19 Nov Pool 2 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 22 Nov OD Theory 3

SD Theory 3

 19:30  Earth Sciences
Mon 26 Nov  Pool 2 Group B  19:45  Chesterton Pool
Thu 29 Nov OD Theory 4

SD Theory 4

 19:30  Earth Sciences
Mon 21 Jan  Pool 3 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 24 Jan OD Theory 5

SD Theory 5

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 28 Jan Pool 3 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 31 Jan OD Theory 6

SD Theory 6

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 4 Feb Pool 4 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 7 Feb OD Theory 7

SD Theory Revision

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 11 Feb Pool 4 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 14 Feb OD Theory Exam

SD Theory Exam

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 18 Feb Pool 5 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 21 Feb SD Theory 1 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 25 Feb Pool 5 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 28 Feb SD Theory 2 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 4 Mar SD Pool Session 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 7 Mar SD Theory 3 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 11 Mar SD Pool Session 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 14 Mar SD Theory 4 19:30 Earth Sciences
Fri 15- Sun 17 Mar Open Water Training Weekend Vobster Quay