Beginners

BSACs entry level qualification is ‘Ocean Diver’, which is equivalent to PADI Open Water Diver, CMAS 1* etc and is internationally recognised.

Learning to dive is all about learning to use your equipment properly and safely. The Ocean Diver training course concentrates on preparing you for this in the safety of a swimming pool or sheltered water and then introducing you to open water in a controlled and safe manner. This also gives you the opportunity to practice safety skills in the company of a qualified instructor or experienced diver.

The course consists of seven lectures (on Thursday evenings), a theory test, five pool sessions (on Monday evenings) and four open water dives where you will be assessed to demonstrate that you have mastered the required skills for the qualification. The course fees of £200 include the course training pack, theory lessons, pool lessons and use of club kit during pool and open water training. Course fees don’t include entry to open water training sites (usually £10-15 a day), or air refills on open water training trips (usually about £5 a fill).

You will also need to provide your own mask (goggles), hood, gloves and drysuit – we can provide advice and help in sourcing these.

This Year’s Training Program

Date Class Time Location
Thu 26 Oct Training Introduction 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 30 Oct Pool 1 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 2 Nov OD Theory 1 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 6 Nov Pool 1 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 9 Nov OD Theory 2 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 13 Nov Pool 2 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 16 Nov OD Theory 3 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 20 Nov Pool 2 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Mon 15 Jan Pool 3 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 18 Jan OD Theory 4 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 22 Jan Pool 3 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 25 Jan OD Theory 5 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 29 Jan Pool 4 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 1 Feb OD Theory 6 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 5 Feb Pool 4 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 8 Feb OD Theory Revision 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 12 Feb Pool 5 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 15 Feb SD Theory 4 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 19 Feb Pool 5 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 22 Feb SD Theory 5 19:30 Earth Sciences
Thu 1 Mar SD Theory 6 19:30 Earth Sciences
Thu 8 Mar SD Theory Revision 19:30 Earth Sciences
Thu 15 Mar SD Theory Exam 19:30 Earth Sciences