Training

If you want to learn to dive, extend your experience or even become an instructor we can help. The club has a number of qualified instructors who can provide training. Our training is club based – we are only able to train club members and our instructors teach on a voluntary basis and are not paid. If you want to dive with us, we’re happy to help, if you want to learn for your next tropical holiday, it’s probably better for you to learn there (or find a commercial school here – we can advise you about this if you want).

This year our Ocean Diver course costs £200 and our Sports Diver course costs £90. This covers course materials, pool sessions (if relevant) and annual kit hire. You will still need a mask (goggles), hood, gloves and a drysuit, and will need to pay for entry to training sites.

Of course if you learn to dive on holiday and decide you want to try UK diving come and see us!

This Year’s Training Program

Date Class Time Location
Thu 26 Oct Training Introduction 19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 30 Oct Pool 1 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Mon 6 Nov Pool 1 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 9 Nov OD Theory 1

SD Theory 1

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 13 Nov Pool 2 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 16 Nov OD Theory 2

SD Theory 3

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 20 Nov Pool 2 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Mon 15 Jan Pool 3 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 18 Jan OD Theory 3

SD Theory 4

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 22 Jan Pool 3 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 25 Jan OD Theory 4

SD Theory 5

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 29 Jan Pool 4 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 1 Feb OD Theory 5

SD Theory 6

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 5 Feb Pool 4 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 8 Feb OD Theory 6

SD Theory Exam

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 12 Feb Pool 5 Group A 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 15 Feb OD Theory Exam

SD Theory Exam

19:30 Earth Sciences
Mon 19 Feb Pool 5 Group B 19:45 Chesterton Pool
Thu 22 Feb SD Theory 4 19:30 Earth Sciences
Thu 1 Mar SD Theory 5 19:30 Earth Sciences
Thu 8 Mar SD Theory 6 19:30 Earth Sciences
Thu 15 Mar SD Theory Exam 19:30 Earth Sciences